Mon. May 29th, 2023

Dragonflights in World of Warcraft

Dragons have existed for as long as World of Warcraft, with their history spanning at least 20,000 years. Dragonflight focuses on the story and lore of the Dragonflights in World of Warcraft, providing a deeper dive into the dragon world than what we got from the Cataclysm expansion.

There are five Dragonflights in World of Warcraft, each with their own leader, except for one which is currently without a leader. However, this is expected to change during the current expansion, as it is one of the major storylines.

Alexstrasza, the Life-Binder, stands tall and proud in her humanoid form, while her dragon form roars powerfully behind her. In the background, other dragons can be seen soaring through the sky. Dragonflights in World of Warcraft can be seen in this image

In the early history of the dragons, there were dragonflights in every color of the rainbow. However, there are five primary flights that exist today.

Black Dragonflight

Black dragons have black scales and were given powers over the earth. Most black dragons can breathe magma, but some will breathe fire and hot ash. The corrupt black dragons can breathe shadow flame. This flight was led by Neltharion, who became known as Deathwing, and were charged with protecting the Earth.

Blue Dragonflight

The blue dragonflight can breathe frost or arcane magic. The titan Norgannon blessed Malygos and his flight with power over the arcane, with the duty of ensuring it would not be abused. Malygos and his mate ruled the blue flight until the War of the Ancients when Deathwing used the Demon Soul to wipe out the majority of the flight, leaving just Malygos and a few eggs. Malygos eventually died at the end of the Nexus war, and Kalecgos became the new leader by popular vote.

Bronze Dragonflight

The Bronze Dragons can breathe superheated sand. The titan Aman’thul blessed Nozdormu and his ability to time travel and master temporal magic. They are rarely seen interacting with mortals unless they require their assistance. Their enemies are the Infinite Dragonflight, a flight of bronze dragons that became corrupted by the Old Gods, who wished to rewrite the timeline.

Green Dragonflight

Ysera and her flight were charged with protecting the natural world and the Emerald Dream, a pristine realm of nature and magic. Green dragons have an affinity for animals and nature. They are also more approachable than dragons of the other flights, primarily conflicting only with those who attempt to corrupt or destroy nature.

Red Dragonflight

Red dragons can breathe fire, which can either destroy life or bring it. Alexstrasza leads the red dragons and is also the Queen of Dragons. Her flight is charged with protecting life and wishes to protect all life on Azeroth. However, some red dragons still hold mistrust and animosity towards mortals due to the events of the Second War.

The dragons are proud of their heritage and lineage, and they remember the names of all those who have gone before them. Some dragons are seen more frequently than others, and some prefer to stay with their own kind. Each flight harbors its own secrets, which we may soon discover.

Do you have a favorite dragon flight? If so, which one and why?

Follow by Email